top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAC Carlos

Arts: My Knight in Shining Armor

Updated: May 26, 2022


Art in every sense is my savior, my rescuer; after all i'm one damsel that is always in distress. It is my go-to thing when I get sad, lonely, hurt, depressed, and when i'm at wit's end or at the brink of insanity.


I remember when I lost my baby through miscarriage, I was devastated. I binge-watched all-day and all-night (but with sleep in-between) and probably watched all movies I could find online, but the ads about mom and child made me inconsolable (it was mother’s day season) that I felt I will snap in a split second if I don’t find a way out.


At that time, I have no one to comfort me 24/7, my ex-husband was busy with who-knows-what in who-knows-where with who-knows-who. He left home and disappeared for days, and my friends and family, while they sent their love and regrets, gave me the space I need. I felt so lonely and in so much pain physically and emotionally.


When I felt that my thin thread of sanity was about to snap, I broke myself out of so much crying, and rummaged through the drawers and plastic containers where my old and seem-to-be-forgotten art materials were stored. There I found my pastels sticks, colored pencils, watercolor sets, markers, and pens. Luckily at that time, adult coloring book became a hit and I have availed myself of a few books. I felt better as soon as I started coloring a page. I was saved and rescued by those tiny, colorful, and beautiful things. They may not be shiny but the spectrum of colors is like a glitter in my eyes, so it counts. I was back to life instantly! It felt like being born again. Indeed, I was reborn, and like every baby, I take one step at a time. I try new things, and I learn little by little. I’m still at my baby steps. So join me as I learn to walk and run in the cre-ART-ive world!


16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page